Author Topic: Info needed.  (Read 4590 times)

Tawsy

Info needed.
« on: May 12, 2009, 06:32:45 AM »
Hi All,

I am a firefighter from Australia. I am trying to get some information and hopefully in the long term get in contact with people who could help me out.
In Australia our firefighting tactics are significantly different to what I understand are practiced in the USA. I am interested to find out more about the standard operating procedures and training material for primary searches used by departments in the US in particular those related to VES. I believe that there may be some parts of these practises that we could adapt to suit us.

If you can point me in the right direction for online info, books or people to talk to I would be most grateful.

Thanks

Nycfire.net

Info needed.
« on: May 12, 2009, 06:32:45 AM »

Online nfd2004

• Global Moderator
Re: Info needed.
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2009, 08:09:10 AM »
  Sir, I can understand what you mean about trying to learn different firefighting policies. I know myself that I was a firefighter about 120 miles from New York City, but I used to read all the Manuel's from the FDNY. They had so much to offer and learn from. Every type of building or rescue situtation anybody could face.
  You might want to start with a subscription to WNYF Magazine. Subscriptions for foreign orders are $27.00. You may order it at:
                                     Customer Service
                                     WNYF Subscription Dept.
                                     FDNY Foundation
                                     9 Metro Tech Center, Room 5E-9
                                     Brooklyn, NY 11201
  Good Luck and best wishes from across "The POND".

Offline manhattan

« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2009, 05:17:07 PM »
I'd suggest you go right to the top and contact Chief of Operations Patrick M. McNally and/or Assistant Chief Thomas R. Galvin, Chief of Training; both can be reached through:
FDNY Headquarters
9 Metrotech Center