HELMETS

I have an old style 5A New Yorker that was originally black then had to be painted yellow.  I have since retired it and would like to know the best way to prepare it for repainting it back to black.  Also, what is the best type of paint to use or does anyone know of anyone that refurbishes helmets?  I tried to google Cairns, but only got resellers.  Thanks for your help.

I've heard horror stories about helmets returned to Cairns for repair/refurbishment and disappearing into a black hole, but I have no personal experience with them. 

Here's the Cairns repair web site:  http://www.msafire.com/catalog/catalog503257.html

Perhaps they could at least answer your questions on the best way to do the work yourself . . . it'd be worth a try.

I re-furbed mine. I used paint remover and an enamel based high heat spray paint.

Watching a lot of photo's on the web I noticed a lot of helmets appearing to be in a bad condition. Helmets black because of smoke and heath, eyeshields melted and frontshields unreadable. In my opinion firefighters deserve good gear and replacement when needed. Respect to all of them risking and giving their lives.

Not really a reaction on this post but I wanted to give my feelings a way out.

Petey said:
Watching a lot of photo's on the web I noticed a lot of helmets appearing to be in a bad condition. Helmets black because of smoke and heath, eyeshields melted and frontshields unreadable. In my opinion firefighters deserve good gear and replacement when needed. Respect to all of them risking and giving their lives.

Not really a reaction on this post but I wanted to give my feelings a way out.

Have fun getting a guy to give up his salty lid for a brand new shiny one, especially an FDNY vet who was lucky enough to get in beofre they switched over to plastic. It would not be easy to convince a vet to go from a salty leather to a shiny Ben II.

http://www.thefirestore.com/store/category.cfm/cid_9006_leather_helmet_repair/