Finding the units on a assignement

Peter

New member
Joined
Sep 11, 2020
Messages
11
I don't believe they transmit this over the air so how are people finding what units are on the job so quick?
 

rangermsg1

Active member
Joined
Feb 26, 2019
Messages
204
I don't believe they transmit this over the air so how are people finding what units are on the job so quick?
I use google maps. Plot in the job location and then search for nearby FDNY houses. Not perfect but close...
 

FDNYSTATENISLAND

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 13, 2012
Messages
6,542
Either I know the normal assignment by living in the area (SI) or I’ll use a unit location map and try to guess a rundown. Over time if there are jobs or boxes in the same areas you learn the normal assignments. On the rundowns I put “probably” because ya never know.
 

HCO

Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
377
Kudos to STATENISLAND (and others) for use of “probably” or other qualifiers when the exact assignment is not positively known.
 

twoteamtease

Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2012
Messages
94
Most of the posters on this site are dispatchers, so they usually know by heart

some of us are firefighters, and worked in areas which we know by heart
 

Mike M

Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2008
Messages
182
Been doing the scanner/buff thing for like 35 years... it's just something you pick up along the way

Currently my first alarm at my home box: E167,168,164,162 L87,84 BC23
For 30 years it was: E315,305,298,299 L125,151 BC50
After that is was: E284,242,241,247 L149,L109 BC40

Yes a Queens guy marries a Brooklyn girl and ends up on SI ... lol
 
Top