FDNY/NYPD Second jobs

chicago2008

Hello what are some of the common second jobs for FDNY/NYPD? In the Chicago area many CPD officers work security at Comiskey Park, Wrigley Field, Solider Field, and the United Center. Many CFD firefighters and paramedics also work as EMT's and Paramedics at these same venues. Is this also common with the NYPD and FDNY? Thanks.

nfd2004

I must agree with memorymaster.

But I would also add, that some firefighters, maybe police officers too, throughout the country also teach "job related classes" throughout their states and I know a few who travel throughout the country giving such classes.

During my much younger days as a firefighter, I also worked as a part time 911 dispatcher in another town, as well as part time on a private ambulance company doing both emergency and non-emergency transports.

BUT - "here's a better one".

Back BEFORE the days of this so called Internet Thing, I was taking pictures of my favorite firetrucks. That goes back to the days of 35 mm film that had to be developed. One of my favorite places was the FDNY where I would visit FDNYs Training Academy at the start of MY YOUNGER BUFF DAYS in the FDNYs busiest areas.

It was the perfect place to take those rig photographs. In fact going back many years ago is when I got to meet our own "johnny gage" there. He put the rig in the Perfect Position so I could get the "one of a kind photo" of FDNYs Ladder 5. THANK YOU DAN, as well as the tillerman assigned that day.

Then I got to thinking, I'm sure I'm NOT The ONLY GUY interested in photos like this. So I took an ad out in Firehouse Magazine offering Ten - 3 x 5 photos of FDNY rigs. I think the ad cost me $42.00 at the time. I had no idea how it would turn out.

Well, once the ad came out I got an "overwhelming response". In fact I got orders from all over the world. I couldn't believe it.

With such a GREAT RESPONSE, I ended up with a total of 23 separate photo sets from all over the country.